Reconnaissance Blind Chess

RBC Tournament History

NeurIPS 2019 Tournament

Original results announcement:
Congratulations to all the participants of our NeurIPS 2019 tournament! Gino Perrotta and Robert Perrotta won first prize with StrangeFish, which had an overall record of 464-40 and a winning record against every other bot. Timothy (T.J.) Highley, Brendan Funk, and Laureen Okin won second with LaSalle Bot, which had a record of 444-60. In addition to replays of all tournament games, more information is available in our PMLR paper and the NeurIPS videos.

2020 Leaderboard Challenge

Original results announcement:
Congratulations to Gregory Clark, author of penumbra, and Kyle Blowitski and Timothy (T.J.) Highley, authors of La-Q Bot, who won $1000 and $500 respectively in our most recent scheduled online competition! Hear more in an interview with JHU/APL and Clark. Thank you to all who participated.

NeurIPS 2021 Tournament

Original results announcement:
Congratulations to Mohammad Taufeeque, Nitish Tongia, and Shivaram Kalyanakrishnan, the team behind Fianchetto, the winner of the NeurIPS 2021 tournament, and to Gino Perrotta, who won second place with StrangeFish2! A virtual workshop was held as part of the NeurIPS 2021 Competition Track; the recording can be watched here

NeurIPS 2022 Competition

Original results announcement:
The RBC Competition for NeurIPS 2022 has finished! Congratulations to the winners, StrangeFish2, authored by Gino Perrotta, and Fianchetto, by Anvay Shah and Shivaram Kalyanakrishnan. Discussions of RBC, this competition, and the bots that participated were presented during the NeurIPS 2022 workshop week.